Snapshot of Waikato DHB

Our health district

  • Waikato District Health Board (DHB) is one of 20 district health boards in New Zealand.  More about all district health boards in New Zealand(external link)
  • Waikato DHB serves a population of more than 390,000 and covers more than 21,000 square kilometres. It stretches from northern Coromandel to close to Mt Ruapehu in the south, and from Raglan on the west coast to Waihi on the east. 
  • There are 10 territorial local authorities within Waikato DHB boundaries – Hamilton City, Hauraki, Matamata-Piako, Otorohanga, (part of) Ruapehu, South Waikato, Thames Coromandel, Waikato, Waipa, and Waitomo.
  • The principal iwi (Maori tribal groups) in the Waikato DHB district are Hauraki, Ngati Maniapoto, Ngati Raukawa, and Waikato. Ngati Tuwharetoa and Whanganui iwi groups also reside within the district, and a significant number of Maori living here affiliate to iwi outside the district.
  • The board and executive offices of Waikato DHB are located on the Waiora Waikato Hospital Campus in Hamilton city.

  • Map of Waikato DHB health district(external link)  
  • Read about our population and their health needs

Our governance 

  • Waikato DHB is governed by a board of up to 11 members. Seven members are publicly elected every three years at the time of local government elections. The Minister of Health appoints up to four members to each board, and the board’s chair and deputy chair. 
  • The Board must have at least two Maori members, whom the Minister will appoint if they are not elected.
  • The Boards sets the overall strategic direction for the DHB and monitor its performance.
  • Waikato District Health Board has three advisory committees which include invited members as well as members of the board. 
  • The chief executive reports to the board.

 Read more about the board and committees 

  • Waikato DHB has a governance relationship with local iwi/Māori through an Iwi Māori Council which has representatives from Pare Hauraki, Ngati Maniapoto, Ngati Tuwharetoa, Te Runanga O Kirikiriroa representing urban Māori, Pare Waikato, Raukawa, and Whanganui iwi. The relationship between the council and the board is governed by a memorandum of understanding.
  • Waikato DHB has an internal Clinical Governance Board of senior clinicians, professional leaders and clinical service managers. It reports through the chief executive. It's role is to ensure high standards of clinical quality by monitoring relevant systems, standards, indicators of performance and plans and, where necessary,  require improved performance.

Our key office holders

Our vision, mission and priorities

Our vision, values and strategy were refreshed in 2016. 
Read about our vision and strategy here 

Our values

People at heart / Te iwi ngakaunui:

  1. Give and earn respect / Whakamana 
  2. Listen to me, talk to me / Whakarongo 
  3. Fair play / Mauri Pai 
  4. Growing the good / Whakapakari 
  5. Stronger together / Kotahitanga

Our services

Waikato DHB receives funding from Government to undertake its functions.  

  • About 60 percent of funding received by Waikato DHB is used to directly provide hospital and health services.
    • 5 hospital sites
    • 2 continuing care facilities
    • 1 mental health inpatient facility
    • 20 community bases

  • The remaining 40 percent is used to fund contracted services provided by non-government organisations (NGOs), primary health care organisations (PHOs), pharmacies and laboratories including:.
    • 57 aged related residential care facilities 
    • 76 pharmacies
    • 75 General Practitioner (GP) practices
    • 18 Maori organisations
    • 2 Pacific organisations
    • 3 primary health alliance partners
  • Some services are funded and contracted nationally by the Ministry of Health and National Health Board, for example public health services, breast and cervical screening as well as the provision of disability support services for people aged less than 65 years. 

Our employees

As at 30 June 2016:

  • We employed 6633 staff (52% full-time, 45% part-time, and 3% casual);
  • There are 53 different ethnicities working together to provide health services;
  • Māori make up 9% of the workforce (but 23% of our DHB population);
  • NZ non-Māori make up the single largest ethnic group of employees (53%).

In terms of staff roles:

  • 11% - medical 
  • 46% - nursing/midwifery
  • 18% - allied/technical health
  • 6% - support
  • 18% management/admin.

Waikato Hospital is a tertiary teaching hospital.

Our health region - Midland

  • The Midland DHBs or Midland Region are terms that refer to the five district health boards across the central North Island - Waikato, Lakes, Taranaki, Bay of Plenty and Tairawhiti district health boards.
  • The Midland region serves a total population of more than 854,000 people.
  • There is increasing collaboration on clinical service planning across regions and with the primary health care sector.  

Our publications

Our history

Waikato District Health Board (DHB) was formed in 2001 as one of 21 health boards set up at that time. However many of our hospital and health services date back to the late 1880s and early 1900s.

  • Read about the development of the New Zealand health system here(external link)
  • Read about the history of Waikato Hospital from the 1880s here